Aspire to Greatness

 

Tonight I had a great talk with a lifeline of mine, Tom Hatton, and he said something really interesting to me. He told me that in his 30 years working for Gallup studying people and their Strengths he’d realized that some people would always be on the search for more; more success, more happiness, more passion…just more. I knew right away that he was talking about me.

Even when I’m in the best possible situation I can’t let myself sit back and enjoy it. I might be happy but I’m never content because I know that if I work harder, longer, faster, and more passionately I can achieve greatness for myself, my company, and those around me. Honestly, it’s kind of exhausting but I can’t stop.

I live in an idealistic world where I truly believe that we can all achieve greatness if we have the right coaches, mentors, and support structures in our lives. We can achieve greatness if we put our best foot forward and have a chance to do what we do best every day.

Over the past several years I’ve had the chance to coach a lot of employees and I’ve loved every second of it. When I’m coaching people I stop worrying about how to achieve more in my life and focus 100% on helping that person achieve passion and greatness in theirs. 

If mentoring & coaching others is the one thing in my life that allows me to stop searching for more and finally feel content then I need to spend more time coaching others. 

So…Does anyone out there need a coach? *wink*

2 thoughts on “Aspire to Greatness

  1. For some odd reason I found myself subconsciously typing the word “greatness” into Google search. This led me through some Google images and “greatness” quotes until I ended here… Strange; could be meant to be- All things seem to be happening for a reason at this point. Like the Tao says, “the Way moves on by contra motion”. We are never ahead or behind, nor are we stagnant and stationary. Like a topical view of a hurricane we are always spiraling like the Fibonacci sequence towards our deaths, but appearing to move backwards at times along the way. I have no idea why I am writing this now… I don’t desire a “life coach” at this point- but feel that there is a reason for my words to be posted here.

    • Drew,

      Thanks for writing. I love that you just happened to be typing in the word “greatness” and found my blog. No matter who we are, what we do for a living, or where we are in life I think it’s important that we find ways to be great. Most people who follow my blogs (both here and at Culture Fanatics) don’t need life coaches but are looking for ways to bring passion into their lives.

      Have a good day.

      Marisa

Comments are closed.