Too Much Gimmick?

There is a presentation that I’ve given a number of times called “Seeing Beyond the Flip-Flops and Margarita Machine: The Key to Corporate Culture”. I like giving it and the audience seems to enjoy it but while I was preparing tonight to deliver it again tomorrow I decided to switch up the categories a bit to see if I could come up with something a bit more sassy (and something that speaks more to my personality). Now I’m wondering if I’ve gone overboard.

Here are the six actions that I believe a company has to go through in order to get to the core of a good corporate culture.

Companies must:

1 –  Have a Come to Jesus Moment (or aha moment for those who don’t do the Jesus thing)

2 – Get the Skeletons Out of The Closet

3 – Fight to the Death

4 – Pick Their Knows

5 – Make Love Not War

6 – Discriminate Equally

Each of those categories is supported with your basic business principles and business terms that everyone can relate to (like Core Values and Employee Engagement) but I just wanted to do something a little different to spice things up.

What do you think? Is it possible to get too gimmicky and to miss the point completely? Or would the audience rather be entertained by some creativity then have to sit through another business lecture?

One thought on “Too Much Gimmick?

  1. I think gimmicks actually work well for sub-topic headers, as long as you don’t try to take them too far or try to be too cutesy with them. I think they serve two purposes; they get people to pay attention to your presentation and they help people remember your presentation. Best of luck!

Comments are closed.