Accepting Help

“By accepting help, you’re actually giving to others by allowing them to feel needed too. Permitting those who care about us to have the opportunity to help us – what could be more compassionate and generous?”

I’m reading the book Who’s Got Your Back by Keith Ferrazzi and am absolutely loving it.

The quote above especially struck a chord with me because there has been so much going on in my personal life lately that I’ve been brushing to the side, covering up, and pretending isn’t there. I’ve been doing what I was always told to do and what has allowed me to be extremely successful in my life thus far…I’ve been sucking it up, being strong, and not even giving people the chance to step in and help.

As kids, we’re not taught to ask for help because it’s seen as a sign of weakness. In business, especially as women, we’re told that we’re weak if we show emotions or let people see us falter. What a load of crap passed down by macho-ism. And where has it gotten us?

I’m going to work harder at being more accepting of help from others.

